PLAIN TEXT; PAPER, LESS — PRODUCTIVITY DIGEST

PTPL 103: 4 Practical, Fascinating Uses of Plain Text in the Wild

Writing and websites, a Mac utility and a worklog

Ellane W
Produclivity
Published in
3 min readMay 6, 2024

--

Plain text, Paper, Less (PTPL) Productivity Digest, text-based image by Author

This week: Seen a post you love somewhere on the internet? Save it now, while you can. Two apps and two ideas for using plain text to solve everyday problems, including a distraction-free writing app, and plain text scripts to automate context switching on a Mac.

No AI input; all words 100% human made. Non-subscribers are welcome to read for free.

Scott Nesbitt was someone I found in various writing-themed forums in my early days seeking digital simplicity. I am currently studying his site, The Plain Text Project, and placing entries that resonate with me into Omnivore / Raindrop.

Why? Because katanist.com no longer exists, and I’m sad I didn’t take notes on the GTD with TaskPaper article on that site before it went down. Edit: Some kind and capable people have found the article for me on the Wayback Machine! So glad!

Also because I’ve found that Omnivore doesn’t always save the whole thing, and someone told me that Raindrop does. I’ve yet to confirm that. Edit: The SiteSucker app makes it easy to download entire websites. Thanks, Eric!

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans