This Crazy, Messy Notebook Can Unlock Your Creative Genius

Mine’s on my iPad, and it’s the booster rocket of my brain

Ellane W
Produclivity

--

Cartoon person with sparks and colors coming out of their open, hinged head.
Illustration by Author

Of the 10 or so notebooks I use for handwritten notes on my iPad, there’s only one I’d never want to be without.

It’s the power behind each creative project and a window to the parts of my brain that have the best problem-solving ideas. I call this notebook my Scratchpad, but you could use the label Notes or even name it “Morpheus” if you wanted to.

It’s the first place I went when I was preparing to write this article, and it’s my go-to when starting a new project for my educational publishing company, or when my brain is so full of worries and ideas mixed together that I feel frozen in place.

Going to my Scratchpad breaks the deadlock every time, and I believe it can do the same for you.

Call it brainstorming, brain-dump, idea generation, I don’t care. My suggestion is that you don’t call it any of those things if, by affixing a label, you start thinking that there are rules about what and how you can or can’t write.

Paper or digital, it doesn’t matter — all you need is pen and paper, and about 10 minutes of your time.

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans