Teachers Need to Take Math Trauma Seriously

Healing, Step 1: Recognise it Exists

Ellane W
Produclivity

--

Young male student in black zip jacket looking down sadly in front of orange school bus
Photo by Austin Pacheco on Unsplash

Some of my stories are behind a paywall. Paying to access them is one way to support me, or you can click here to read for free.

I was 15 years old, sitting in grade 10 (Sophomore) maths, feeling utterly alone in a room full of my peers.

At first I’d put up my hand to ask for help, but soon stopped when I realised that my questions sounded stupid. Everyone else got it the first time, and there I was asking the math-equivalent of “but how do you know those two musical notes are different just by listening to them?” It was an awful feeling that churned my stomach and made a painful dent in my self-esteem.

“Ha ha! I’m in the dumb class now,” I joked the following year, on my way to remedial math, almost succeeding at looking like I didn’t care.

Facts don’t lie: no way was I “dumb”. I got straight As in right-brain subjects like Drama, Music, English, and History. Science and math — another story. They were dull necessities for most people I knew, but for me it was like being a monolingual Cantonese speaker in a class where the text was Mandarin. Looked familiar, sounded foreign.

I’d picked up French in an immersion class, but bombed out with the language of numbers.

--

--

Ellane W
Produclivity

Designer and educational publisher for 30 years+. Plain-text advocate. Still using paper, but less of it. https://linktr.ee/miscellaneplans