Breaking into Product Management

Bhramari
Product Alchemist
Published in
5 min readFeb 27, 2023

Like a Pro!

A few days back I received calls from two of my friends seeking how to break into product management.

A little background on these friends:

Friend A: Works in a bank as an analyst. His argument on why he wanted to break into product management is based on his current job which looks monotonous and boring. He wanted to dive into something different and exciting where he can feel passionate.

Friend B: Working as a software developer. Though she is absolutely satisfied with her job yet she sometimes finds herself looking for more.

In every conversation, I felt they didn't have a clue about what product management is, which is fair enough. We all start from someplace. But by the end of the conversation, I have always found people calmer than at the start of the conversation. I am in no way deterring people from becoming a product manager. But I do require people to acknowledge what product management is and whether it is a good fit for them.

I usually resolve the query in two parts:

#1 What is wrong with the current job?

It is fundamentally significant to comprehend why the current job is motivating them to look elsewhere. Let's consider the example of the analyst friend. There are a number of things an analyst would be analyzing in a Bank. It could be credit card risk or marketing initiatives, etc. What if the skills that someone is applying are interesting and valuable but what they are working on isn't?

Out of my personal experience, I can only build those products that I find interesting and fun. If I further dive down, I am more interested in B2C products than B2B. So one can clearly see that I have a very niche preference which I have identified over time.

I started my career building retail products but currently am building digital products for the sports/entertainment industry. How did I reach here? That is altogether a different conversation which I will talk about some other day.

Some product managers can build anything; you give them an idea and they come up with a mind-blowing product. But am not that person and that is absolutely fine.

And maybe people who are bored with their current job, enjoy the skills they have but not the area where they are applying them.

Because once you take the plunge, you may miss applying those skills.

#2 How can they switch to product management from where they are?

Now If we are clear enough on the current scenario for our job, let us see what we can do for the people who are not into product management or are nowhere related to product management.

Product management is not rocket science. It is like any other skill that people can acquire over time. In fact, It is more generic in nature which no one can see but can only be experienced by how you communicate or think. The better you think, the better product manager you are.

But one cannot inculcate those skills by reading or attending lectures/events. They definitely build your ground, but you need the opportunity to test the waters.

People need job experience to inculcate those skills. Even a job remotely related to some aspect of product management can help you with it.

#2.a Start within your organization

If you cannot convince the people in your current organization to support you, then there is no way in hell you can convince people outside your organization.

Step 1: Understand product management responsibilities and try to find a relationship within your current job.

Once you have some sort of a match between your current job and product management. Focus on doubling down on that skill. It could be as simple as understanding your customer. Be an analyst or developer, your work supports someone somewhere in this world who needs something.

A product represents nothing but a solution. Even a piece of advice can be a product. So if you are really serious about your craft, then think about where you can think like a product manager in your current job.

If you are able to find it or not find it, step 2 should be for all.

Step 2: Identify the product management opportunity within your company and the team and talk your way through it.

A lot of people will argue why they will entertain us. I want to ask, why they will not.

As I said, product management is not rocket science but another skill that you can acquire over time. But first-timers would need a bit of trust and opportunity from others. That is where the first-timers need to showcase their interest while they articulate their way into it.

You will get rejected and that is completely okay. But you would know much more about product management than before. You can use “why you got rejected” as the feedback to improve so that you can come back and talk again.

There can be multiple scenarios a person can go through within their organization while striking this conversation. I cannot anticipate all of them, but you would have gotten the crux. Everything in this world is negotiable.

Either work extra hours for them or carry out a minor project for them. Anything that may prove your legit interest.

2.b Product management doesn't happen in your organization

Start building your own products. This is my backup plan. If I ever find myself stuck in some job where I am not enjoying building my product but have to put food on the table.

I am going to build my own product in my spare time and derive satisfaction from it.

Looks like a fairy tale! It is not!

It is a lot harder than that to find the motivation after work hours.

But, the idea is to give yourself the experience that people think you lack. There is no argument in it that this is a great time to build new products. There is so much help available across the internet.

And trust me, this is going to reflect far better on your resume than any other job profile.

Do the research, the design, the development, and the release. Take help if you want, but start from somewhere.

#2.c Do a management course.

This is what I did!

I didn't do a management course to become a product manager but I was clear that I want to be on the business side of things. Product management happened to me as I navigated my way as a business person.

And yes, management graduates become very obvious choices for these roles as well because of their educational background.

You can strive for that degree if you have enough time and money to spare. If not, then Go back to Rule number 2.a.

Note: If you like my article, please leave a comment on how did you break into product management.

If you enjoyed this article, subscribe to our newsletter here to receive this article directly in your inbox for FREE. Stay updated and never miss out on our latest articles and exclusive updates!

--

--

Bhramari
Product Alchemist

💻 Product Manager 🎙️Talks about 9 to 5 Life 👷‍♀️ Sharing insights on content creation 💭 Personal Musings