Poor Design: Mini Fridge Freezer

There are many things that can contribute to a poor design. However, the most frustrating thing is usually how usable a product is. One example of this is my old mini fridge from freshman year. The problem I had with it didn’t deal with the refrigeration section, but rather the tiny, insignificant, freezer section. The freezer section had its separate dial that controlled the temperature of the freezer section which ranged from 1 to 6. However, there was no way (without the manual, which I had lost), to tell if 1 or 6 were the colder setting. Because of this, I set it to the coldest setting and ice started to build up to the point where I couldn’t open the freezer section. Because of this, I couldn’t change the temperature to a cooler one for fear that the water would leak into my carpet and cause mold in my dorm.

--

--