Scaling a Business & Coming Home: Tophatter Opens Office in India

Sree Menon
Product & Engineering at Tophatter
2 min readSep 19, 2019

Namaste from Tophatter India! I am thrilled to open our new office in Bangalore — an important tech hub in Southeast Asia. Expanding to India and building a team here will have a network effect as we scale our offerings globally. Tophatter has enormous value to provide international consumers, marketplace sellers, and potential employees, and having a strong presence in India is a critical step toward unlocking that value. For me, opening Tophatter India is not only an exciting moment in the company’s trajectory, but also a career milestone.

As a girl growing up in India, my family always encouraged me to strive to be whomever I wanted to be. This support drove me to university and then to a career in the United States, leading teams at global enterprises including eBay, Dell, and GE. While I loved contributing to such powerful companies, when I joined Tophatter in 2017, I was ready to use my experience and expertise to shape and scale an entire business, not just a piece of the operation.

Now, returning to India, I feel like my journey is coming full circle. Overseeing the Indian operations will allow me to impact the place I am from originally. Growing a business I strongly believe in and bringing a world-class ecommerce experience to an underserved market. Closest to my heart, I’ll be helping to nurture the careers and dreams of new the Tophatter team members in Bangalore.

So what’s the plan for Tophatter India? We are creating a global, distributed engineering organization that allows us to build faster than ever before. And with a global team comes global perspectives; Silicon Valley, for all its strengths, can sometimes foster a myopic view of the world. Tophatter has always appealed to users outside the Bay Area, and so it should be contributed to by those outside the Bay Area as well.

There is still boundless opportunities in the global ecommerce industry, and Tophatter is positioned to lead the mobile discovery shopping market. Though the office will focus on engineering at first, we’re also laying the groundwork for a second operational hub in India one day.

We’re hiring, so spread the word and reach out. Head to our careers page to learn more: https://tophatter.com/careers.

--

--

Sree Menon
Product & Engineering at Tophatter

I am COO of discovery shopping marketplace, Tophatter. When not working, I enjoy spending time outdoors with my family & meditating.