Thoughts | Content drives retention

Halim Madi
Product + Design
Published in
1 min readNov 9, 2018

Product doesn’t

A quick thought here. Something clicked today: For a long while I thought product development was the sole driver of retention. And then I realized, no user uses an online product for the sake of the product. Some examples that came to mind:

  • I open credit karma to check my credit score (content)
  • Facebook to see friend posts (content)
  • The Chase app to check my balance (content)

Granted, I’ll open these apps to send money, which is more of a functionality. But the feature that keeps me coming back most often is content. This realization helped me reframe the role of product in driving retention: Product is here to help content shine. This is especially relevant for platform type products.

--

--