Why I Love EventKey

Mat Sherman
Phoenix Launch Lab
Published in
4 min readMar 21, 2017

I have mad love for EventKey. The love is real. So you understand, whenever I open their app, this is how I feel. This is exactly how I feel.

Why do I love EventKey so much? It’s hard to explain for a few reasons. The truth is, I don’t know what I love more; the founders or the product. Let’s start with the founders.

The Founders

Raf

I love this guy. I really do. I think the biggest reason is because I admire his hustle so much. The city of Phoenix doesn’t really see or or appreciate it but this kid is one of the biggest hustlers in Phoenix. He works hard. He solicits feedback. And he’s getting shit done. He has bootstrapped EventKey, is in revenue with multiple clients, and has EventKey buzzing all across Phoenix. Hundreds of people are checking in on his app. Thousands are viewing eachother. I love this man because he’s going to outwork you….he also is probably going to build a bigger business than you.

Perry

I didn’t know Perry very well until we had a nice chat around ASU a few months ago. He’s one of the smartest people i’ve met. The way he talks. He thinks about every word that comes out of his mouth. Never wanting to waste a word…Comparable to Sam Altman. He thinks far ahead but focusses on whats in front of him. He’s a stellar product manager because he tells me no to 90% of my feature requests, as he should. Additionally, he built and designed EventKey. If you haven’t seen the app, it’s beautiful.

Let’s talk about it.

EventKey

Simple. Clean. Sexy. Or as Perry Would say “Less but Better”. So simple. The app is simple. The website is simple. Their plan is simple. And simplicity breeds focus.

So you know the high level pitch, now what the heck does it do?

For Attendees

For Organizers

How I use it

I use it at every event I can. The biggest reason I use it is to see who else is in the room. So if I meet them in person, I already know a bit about them and the icebreaker could be “I saw you on EventKey”. Also, after every event, I send my contact information to the people I want to have it. Businesses cards are on their way out. Ask a millennial and they’ll tell ya.

It’s event tech. Simplified. We will be using EventKey this at our first meetup. I am excited to tell you my experience with it as an organizer.

Wrapping it up

I don’t see many startup in Phoenix having potential to be billion dollar businesses. I really don’t. But….take the hustle of Raf, the brains of Perry, and the product that is EventKey, it makes me wonder…..

I have two asks for you:

  1. If you are a event organizer and are even a little interested in this product, contact Raf at raf@geteventkey.com
  2. If you know an organizer, send them this blog post
  3. Download EventKey now (it’s super lite) so that you’re ready to use at our next event.

App Store or Google Play Store

EventKey needs us an we need EventKey. Let’s rise together.

If you enjoyed this blog post, please click that ❤ button below. It really helps us out :) Thanks!

--

--