Say Goodbye to Unwanted Data Tracking.

Pratistha Srivastav
Productilicious
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2019

When was the last time you read a “User Agreement and Privacy Policy” while downloading a new application? Can’t remember? Does it matter? Read on.

In this highly “Appified” economy, we often download apps without bothering to read the 30-page boring document which has details about who should get the access to our data and who shouldn’t. In an age where data is argued to be as valuable as gold, companies are doing anything and everything to suck as much data as they can via the applications you use or websites you visit. Don’t believe me? Check this out:

Who has access to my data when I access the Washington Post website:

Surprised?

Yes! 16 other websites are trying to access my data while I am reading news on Washington Post.

Did Facebook learn after the Cambridge Analytica scandal? Let’s check out:

Only 2 websites are getting access — one of which is from the FB group.

So today I want to talk about this awesome Chrome plug-in called Disconnect.

What’s good?

a) This plug-in lets you view all the sites which are trying to use your data.

b) It allows you to block the ones that don’t want to share your data with.

d) Very user-friendly and smooth.

What’s more? It also provides a mini-snapshot of what kind of websites are trying to suck your data:

What’s bad?

a) Incompatible with some widely used websites (Ex: YouTube).

Overall, the extension seems to be super useful and super easy to use. Just because it is incompatible with some websites, would definitely not stop me from using it. The color coding (red versus grey) also provides an insight into who’s eyeing your data.

What do you think? Also, if you know of any competitor product which is better, I would love to hear about it. Let me know in the comments section below. Also, if you like this post, then let me know:

Hasta la vista data suckers!

--

--