Rules to Be at Your Productive Best

In under 2 minutes

Atiba Shaikh
Productive Musings
3 min readJun 14, 2021

--

Productivity is not an event. It’s a muscle you have to keep flexing. And it’s a muscle that you need to flex in a wide variety of circumstances.

This latter point hit home for me this Friday. Why? Because I had hardly started this daily writing thing when I realized that I’ll be at my in-laws next week, and will be travelling for another week. I could let this deter me from my writing, or I could just do my best to write everyday, maybe by being a bit more creative with my writing so I don’t have to spend as much time on it while I am on my holiday.

I decided to be creative.

After running some ideas through my head, I settled on a ‘rules for’ kind of series, where I will be writing rules for a variety of things like productivity, writing, handling chores and yes, even working while travelling, in a short, bullet based format. I have always been curious about wrting super short blog posts, so who knows, this might just become the new favorite format for me and my audience?

Today marks the first day of the rules, so let’s begin with productivity! Get, set, go:

  1. Your productivity needs a purpose
  2. Productivity is less about feeling it and more about doing it
  3. Your tools only matter as much as the time you spend at work
  4. The value of your tools is inversely proportional to the time you have to spend managing them
  5. A happy soul is a productive soul
  6. Taking breaks is a strategy
  7. Plan, research and go in a 2:1:5 ratio
  8. Productivity does NOT mean neglecting fun
  9. Working too much is getting too burned out to work anymore
  10. The small things matter, too
  11. Nature is nurture for the mind
  12. Busywork is not being productive. Checking emails is not being productive
  13. Productivity comes after self care
  14. A productive life begins outside of your phone
  15. Productivity is not about rushing
  16. Relationships before work
  17. Boredom is a creativity booster, creativity is a productivity booster
  18. Some things are worth wasting time on
  19. Activate the body to activate the mind
  20. Being busy is not cool
  21. Perfection is the greatest productivity killer
  22. Procrastinating may look like working
  23. Your productivity is not defined by others
  24. Gotta do them chores too!
  25. A successful life is more than a busy life
  26. Keep some hobbies
  27. Take a walk
  28. Some skills are worth more than your resume
  29. Productivity is more than the numbers
  30. Your mind is a wonderful creature. Don’t kill it to make a machine

That’s it for today! Hope you enjoyed these short, freeform thoughts on productivity as much as I enjoyed coming up with, and writing about, them. I wish I could spend more time elaborating on these points, but that’s not what this exercise is about. Gotta keep going, perfection be damned!

Which thought do you resonate the best with, or is something you feel you need to remember? Would you like to add anything else to this list? Do let me know in the comments!

--

--

Atiba Shaikh
Productive Musings

Founder + podcaster @ Soulful Productivity. Follow me for insights on Islamic productivity, podcasting, and daily blogging