Two Jobs TickTick Does Right For Productivity

How I finally gave Siri a light touch and my writing a hard deadline with the TickTick task and habit app

Ian Drummond
Productive People

--

I often have a flight of thought. My ideas come in fast and furious and typically leave in the same fashion. I have always been hesitant to utilize virtual assistants like Cortana, Alexa and Siri due to privacy concerns. However, I realized that until I build my own Jarvis (a work in progress), I will need to test the waters at how a voice-activated note and task system could capture otherwise lost thoughts.

Therefore, I embarked on a journey to test how I could set up Siri for the first time and integrate it into a simple list tool. I stumbled across TickTick last year, and when setting this up, it seemed to be very well developed. It “ticked” a lot of my other boxes on my tool criteria and also had a feature in it that served a job I hadn’t prioritized: writing efficiency. I can now say that TickTick has successfully won a small space in my Life Operating System as a quick list maker and writing timer.

Origins of TickTick

TickTick Logo — Image from TickTick Media Kit

While TickTick is over a decade old, finding information on the company is actually pretty hard. Thanks to Francesco D'Alessio, though, I listened to the co-founder ​​Zhimin Chen in a

--

--

Ian Drummond
Productive People

Self-improvement | Communication | Innovation | Work Management | Sustainability |US->HK->DK