5 Productivity Tools I Can’t Live Without Part 2

Elad Ossadon
Productivity Freak
Published in
3 min readDec 14, 2015

A list of really awesome tools I use every day to increase my productivity.
Part 1 is here

Choosy (choosyosx.com) [OS X]

There are too many browsers, and yet, I use each one for different purpose. Safari and Chrome for leisure and reading, Chrome Canary for development, Firefox for testing. I realized I pass links around too much, especially when I open a link from emails/slack/text messages and it opens in my default browser but I wanted to open it in another. Choosy is exactly that tool, it lets you choose which browser will open a link, essentially by becoming the default browser.

Clicked on a link in an email client

Spectacle (spectacleapp.com) [OS X]

A popular, nifty tool that lets moving and resizing windows. My configuration is alt+1 for full screen, alt+2/3 for the sides. It’s free and very configurable.

Video Speed Controller (chrome.google.com/webstore) [Chrome Extension / Bookmarklet]

Who has time to watch 5 minute cat video on Facebook/YouTube? Or a lecture/presentation for that matter. YouTube has speed controls that go up to 2x. In some cases, not fast enough. Facebook doesn’t have any. This Chrome extension lets you set the speed of the video without any limitation.

Doesn’t always work on Facebook, as posts are render dynamically. So, I created this bookmarklet that doesn’t need the extension:

Mail to Self (mailtoself.com) [iOS]

Sometimes, I see a link on my iPhone and I want to save it for quite immediate use. Safari has Read List and handoff, Facebook has a “Save” feature, but for a specific use case, when I’m not around the computer AND it’s a high priority for me to see a page, this extension for iOS is amazing.

From any “Share” menu in iOS you can “Mail to Self”. That simple and seamless.

RecordIt (recordit.co) [OS X]

Screen capture as GIF. Useful when you want to quickly share a tiny demo/bug without a heavy screen capturing app.

From RecordIt site

Bonus: Wallcat (wall.cat) [OS X]

Well, not exactly a productivity tool, but rather something that brings life to your computer screen. Beautifully curated stunning wallpapers shown on your desktop daily.

--

--