How To Speak Your Mind With Siri

Talking tech

Julian Cosky
Productivity Matters

--

Screenshot from the Apple website

I expect 99.99% of people reading this will have heard of Siri.

The voice assistant that is baked into every Apple product.

Once derided as pretty useless, in comparison with Google and Amazon’s Alexa, Siri has been getting steadily better over time.

Calling out ‘Hey Siri’* galvanises him (or her) into action, to answer questions, do calculations, play music, display the news and weather and more.

*In the latest iOS17 release, you only need to say ‘Siri’ to action the assistant.

How I use it?

Full disclosure, I have Amazon Echo Dots around the house; the kitchen, the lounge and the office, so I don’t use Siri as much as I could, however, I do make use of it to play music, or get the weather report on my phone.

Reminders

One of the main things I use Siri for is to set Reminders.

Simply say ‘Siri, remind me to call mum’ will add it to the Inbox.

The Inbox is the default place all your reminders are sent, until you triage them into another list.

You can even add some parameters, such as time and location.

  • ‘Call Dad when I get home’

--

--

Julian Cosky
Productivity Matters

Husband. Father. Business Analyst. I’m also a Cub Scout Leader. Writing on Medium allows me to be me!