Not ‘Technical Enough’? Three easy steps you can take today to change minds and grow your skillset

Eleanor Stribling
productized
Published in
5 min readMay 11, 2020

--

When I became a software Product Manager (PM), it wasn’t because of my technical prowess.

Switching from my role as a startup’s Director of Client Services to being their second Product person happened because I was considered smart and resourceful, and knew our customers, their requirements, and the industry.

For at least a year before making the change, various people on the exec team had floated the idea to me directly or to others within earshot a few times, but the final decision was always that they knew I was smart enough but weren’t sure I was technical enough to do the job.

It’s almost exactly eight years since I started the PM phased of my career by, among other things, Googling “what is PHP,” In this post, I’ll share how I went from “not technical enough” to being praised as someone with “great technical chops.” And it’s not the coding courses or side projects I’ve done — that helps, but if your interest doesn’t lie there, you don’t have to go that far.

Read on for three steps you can take to today to start building those “great technical chops” for yourself, even if you don’t want to learn to code.

Step #1: Understand how your product works.

--

--

Eleanor Stribling
productized

Product & people manager, writer. Group PM @ Google, frmr TubeMogul (now Adobe), Microsoft, & Zendesk. MIT MBA. Building productmavens.io.