Thinking Like a Product Manager

Eleanor Stribling
productized
Published in
5 min readSep 24, 2019

--

Intro & Part I: Understanding customer needs

Every so often, an engineer approaches me with a question about product management. These questions generally fall into two categories:

  • How can I pick up some product management skills?
  • How can I become a product manager?

In my next three posts, I’m going to explain three frameworks that you can apply today to add a touch of Product Management thinking to your project.

Frameworks are meant to be guidelines, ways of approaching a problem. If you want guidance and examples about how to put these into use, read more about signing up for the newsletter (including details about my first online course, coming in November) at the end of this post.

The basics

The frameworks I’m going to share with you go to the heart of how I define good Product Management.

Product Management is about building a vision around customer needs, rallying the organization behind it, and finding a path to value.

Each framework is fairly straightforward, based on things that already and exist and are known to work (and I use) and focused on tying together the business and…

--

--

Eleanor Stribling
productized

Product & people manager, writer. Group PM @ Google, frmr TubeMogul (now Adobe), Microsoft, & Zendesk. MIT MBA. Building productmavens.io.