30 Days of Product Management Genius with Saeed Khan | Product Management Metrics: Manage the Product like a CEO

Aero Wong
Product Quest
Published in
2 min readDec 11, 2017

“What’s your long-term career goal?” the CEO asked.

“I don’t have a long-term goal, yet.” I was answering a question in the final interview for a Product position. “But I have one for the short-term: become a Product Manager.”

“Okay. We’ll see,” he replied, ending the interview. Three days later, I landed the job. I was going to facilitate a product powered by cutting-edge technology that I barely knew. Besides being in over my head with the technology, I didn’t even know what I was supposed to do as a Product Manager!

I didn’t know how to achieve my goal: I didn’t just want to survive as a Product Manager, I wanted to thrive! I was nervous, but my desire to learn helped me focus on my next steps. I hired a researcher to provide me with all the information and online tutorials I needed to learn about Product Management, and I acquired a list of thought leaders in this domain.

A week later, I was like a piranha swimming in the ocean of knowledge. Tapping into all the genius of those who came before me, soaking up all of their combined wisdom, I quickly learned as much as I could and applied this to my new job. Senior Management was amazed by my acumen and Product Management skills.

Saeed Khan is a Product Management genius who contributed to my PM success.

Product Management Metrics: Manage the Product like a CEO

One day, my Senior Manager asked me to convert the product roadmap Powerpoint presentation he made into a Confluence page.

I had no idea what a product roadmap was, so I researched and learned everything I could about product roadmaps. But then I had a different problem. How do I measure whether or not the product roadmap items were successfully delivered?

Khan is a product management metrics genius. He has agreed to help us solve this mystery. This is what he sent me to prepare for his session in my virtual summit:

Are you a Product Manager? Are you hungry for practical and actionable PM knowledge you can apply on your job?

Saeed Khan is a speaker in the Product Manager Summit: The first FREE Web Conference showcasing Product Management best practices from around the world.

He will walk us through Product Management Metrics: How to Manage the Product Like a CEO.

You don’t want to miss this. Claim your free ticket.

--

--