One Sketch plugin that I cannot live without

Melan Yapa
Product Rig
Published in
3 min readMay 10, 2020

Sketch is a great tool that makes your UI designing experience seamless. Sketch is also rich with dozens of many great features and keeps improving day by day. Along with those great features, there is room for other creative heads to come out with their own features to improve Sketch. That as a plugin.

One big advantage of using Sketch is the availability of plugins. I am not a person who has 100s of plugins installed. But who to lie, there was a time I had installed many plugins that I have found ‘cool’. But after a few days, I couldn’t remember whether I had those or not. So I slowly started removing unwanted plugins. I think we all have been there.

When time passes, I have [made my self] removed many plugins and now I only have 4 - 5 most important ones. Among those plugins, this one *I really cannot live without*

The perfect plugin … Copy Paste Position Size

Ok, that’s a quite long introduction, the plugin I am talking about is *Copy Paste Position Size* by Andre Jilderda

Yes, it’s simple as it sounds, you can copy the X value, Y value, Width and Height of an element and paste it to another element.

This is so crazy. I have used this over a million times [OK, an exaggeration]. I really cannot live without this plugin. I am using this all the time.

Give this plugin a couple of days, you will quickly forget that you haven’t used this before

Shortcuts

Andre Jilderda has loaded this plugin with a bunch of human-memorable shortcuts.

All starts with copying

Copy Control+ Shift + C
Here when you copy, you are copying both the size and the position

Then all about pasting

Paste Width Control+ Shift + W
Paste Height Control+ Shift + H
Paste X PositionControl+ Shift + X
Paste Y PositionControl+ Shift + Y
Paste X and Y Position Control+ Shift + P

Keyboard shortcuts (Image: Andre Jilderda Github)

No need to worry about remembering these shortcuts, give it a few minutes, then you won’t be able to forget any of these shortcuts.

Separate clipboards: Dope

Yes, the plugin clipboard is separated from the system clipboard.

So as an example you can copy the position of an element from this plugin and also the style (from Option + Control + C) to the clipboard and paste it on another element at the same time

So by pressing a few keys, you can copy a position, size and style of an element and paste it to another element. How cool is that? 😲

Image: Gippy

Very well done Andre Jilderda 🎉

Does it really save my time? YES!

Trust me, give it a try. As I said, after a few tries you will quickly forget that you haven’t used this before.

How to install

You can install the plugin via Runner or from Andre Jilderda Github

Extra: For Figma users
MrBiscuit has made the Figma version of this plugin inspired by Andre Jilderda. You can get it from here

Happy copying ✌️

--

--

Melan Yapa
Product Rig

Product Designer · Mobile Design System Owner