Finding My Career

Darren Hartgrove
Professional Life in MCS
3 min readSep 2, 2017
Image found on bonbonbreak.com

Finding out what I want to do for the rest of my life is something I did not think would come to me very easily. When I decided to major in Media and Communications at UMBC, I knew I wanted to have a job that had some relation to sports, but I was not sure of the direction that desire would take me. My internship with the UMBC Athletic Communications Department has given me the direction I want to go and the answer to the question of what I want to do when I graduate college, and these three job ads reflect that in some way.

Notre Dame of Maryland Athletics Assistant/Game Day Coordinator:

This part-time job would be a little different than what I am currently doing with my internship at UMBC, as this job focuses more on the total experience for sporting events at the college, where my internship at UMBC is more focused on the behind-the-scenes aspects of the games like the running the streams for the games as well as social media accounts for the teams.

My internship has given me time to work on my computer skills as well as critical thinking, as the interns here are often given the freedom to work and learn on their own, and then ask questions when needed. I have also gained experience working in a collegiate office setting, but will have to learn skills in event management. To gain these skills, I will have to ask for advice from those that work in that field at UMBC, and If I make those connections and learn the skills that they have, I can be become more qualified for this position.

Athletics Communications Assistant at Bucknell University:

Image found on eclincher.com

This full-time job has a very similar description to what I am currently doing with my internship. The top responsibility listed is “To serve as primary media/communications contact for one or more sports,” which is a goal that my boss has for me here by the end of the semester (NCAA Market, 2017). Because I am learning how to do this as a senior at UMBC, by the time I graduate, this would be a very easy transition to make.

I have been gaining experience with video editing and production, as well as gaining writing skills by writing many press releases for the sports teams here. This experience is valuable when applying to a job like this one. To get the skills necessary for this job, I plan on continuing to learn as much as I can at my internship, as this type of job is what they are setting us up for getting after graduation.

Public Relations Internship — Sports at Time Inc.:

Time Inc. is a company that holds many brands, which include Time Magazine and Sports Illustrated, so their brand reaches all parts of the globe. The job description states that the intern would learn first-hand on the publishing sides of the media industry, and it would be focused on sports (Time Inc., 2017).

My initial dream job was to be a sports journalist for a brand like Sports Illustrated, so this would be a great way to get my foot in the door. Writing press releases is a top responsibility, and that is a skill that I am still working on and improving in my internship currently. Similarly, to the other two jobs, I am planning on learning as much as I can from those around me to gain more skills to get a job like this one.

Advertisements:

“Athletic Communications Assistant.” NCAA Market. Web. Job ad.

“Employment Opportunities.” Notre Dame of Maryland University Job Posting: Athletics Assistant/Game Day Coordinator, Part-time. Web. Job ad.

“Fall 2017 Public Relations Internship — Sports.” Job Application for Fall 2017 Public Relations Internship — Sports at Time Inc. Web. Job ad.

--

--