Medium Post #2 Self-Branding

Swathi Prakash
Professional Life in MCS
3 min readSep 12, 2017

One of my top future career goals is to be an event planner, (mostly for birthdays and low-scale events.) I would love to also event planner for larger events such as weddings once I get my foot through the door.

Three key elements I’d need for self-branding in regards to becoming an event planner would be experience in the field, network connections, and being known to potential connections.

Experience: In order to become an event planner, I would surely need experience in the field so I can easily order food from caterers, plan transportation so it runs smoothly, and engage with the client easily. Planning major events doesn’t come easily, so I’d need to be working in the field for some time before I could become accustomed to how this profession works and slowly get better at my job.

Network: Networking is arguably the most important self-branding element I’d need to become an event planner because most event planners find work through word of mouth. Many people in this profession have unstable incomes because they are self -employed and rely on connections to land their next job. If one event is planed smoothly, the client might be so happy that they would recommend that event planner to their family and friends; therefore ensuring more jobs. Even after creating network connection, convincing the client I’m fit for the job is difficult because “the problem that people in my fieldwork ran into time and time again, whether they were hiring or being hired, is that people’s abilities to present themselves as competent job applicants can have little to do with what they’ll be like once they actually have the job.” (21).

Visibility: Event planners need to have their presence established so that potential customers are able to reach them. Again, since most event planners are self-employed, it’s really important for me to advertise myself, as well as my company so people know my brand exists and are easily able to reach out to me to help plan their events. As stated in the book Down and Out in the New Economy, by Ilana Gershon, “Since the philosopher John Locke, people have talked about the self as property” (3).

Trying to maintain the balance between who I am as a person and what my brand is shouldn’t’ be too difficult when it comes to event planning because I believe that my personality isn’t that much different than what my brand would be. For instance, my branding for my company would be upbeat, fun, and exciting; all the while being organized and productive. For the most part I would say my personality would reflect my branding because I try to be energetic and positive, while also getting my work done where it need to be. As explained by Gershon, “… stress that everyone has an authentic self, and the brand one developed is supposed to reflect their authentic self.” (35). However, getting there isn’t an easy task because “…..one of the hardest parts of branding was the self-reflection it required.” (38). Gershon also touches on the ethics of self-branding in this chapter. It is really important to be genuine to a certain point , while also maintaining the balance of upholding a professional image. I would have to sit down and answer a few questions about myself to get a fully accurate representation of myself and my personality to properly start self-branding.

Links:

Important aspects of self-branding — https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/280268

Event planner duties -

http://work.chron.com/duties-event-planner-3092.html

Tips for personal branding –

https://www.themuse.com/advice/50-personal-finance-tips-that-will-change-the-way-you-think-about-money

--

--