The Holy Grail of Networking & Finding A Job

Jessica Boac
Professional Life in MCS
8 min readNov 1, 2017
Image: http://stcwestcoast.ca/career/conducting-informational-interviews

Preparing for and conducting informational interviews was easier than I thought it would be. I never heard of informational interviews until I read Gershon’s chapter, “Getting off the Screen and into Networks”. I then researched articles on Google pertaining to the process of conducting these interviews. It has been reiterated to me time and time again how important networking is. In an ideal world, networking can eventually lead to open doors. Gershon states, “relationships have become the part of the self that is seen as requiring the most disciplined management… [it] is something you simply have to do, regardless of how unpleasant you might find it” (93). I am still a noob with networking, but hopefully if I stay consistent at it, then it will lead to major payoff down the road.

The first part of the informational interview process, which was identifying people to interview, was the most challenging for me. I had to find people on LinkedIn, add them, and try to message them. LinkedIn is said to be the best if not one of the best platforms for job networkings. “As LinkedIn provides a platform for representing your self as a business, it errs on the side of being more of a marketing document than an evaluation, enabling formulaic ways of expressing yourself as a bundle instead of enabling you to provide nuance or context” (158). I was able to get Director of Communications at Rubenstein Public Relations. It would have been cool if I got more responses from LinkedIn because I had asked for an informational interview from people who worked at big Public Relations Firms such as Edelman, J Public Relations, and Ogilvy Public Relations. I think I struggled in using LinkedIn because it was in a sense a new medium for me. Gershons argues that “When a new medium is introduced, a widespread etiquette doesn’t spring up to accompany it out of the blue. It takes time and work” (122). I did not know how to find the specific people I was looking for and I ended up at a roadblock. Since I could not get in contact with anyone else, I started looking on Facebook and Twitter. I posted a status asking if anyone works in public relations or knows anyone who does. Unfortunately, I did not get any useful comments. That is when I turned to the resources that I knew were readily available to me. I contacted UMBC’s Communications Department. I was able to get in touch with two communications managers who were so kind enough to do phone interviews with me. I also attempted to find people I could possible speak with in nearby public relations firms. Fortunately, I was able to find the three interviewees I needed.

When I requested interviews, I had to make sure I sent appropriate messages/emails. On LinkedIn, the messages I sent out were along the lines of:

Dear PERSON’S NAME,

I’m a college senior interested in working in Public Relations. I found your profile on COMPANY’S NAME’s page. I wanted to reach out to you to discuss what you look for in potential employees who are seeking a career in public relations. I figured you would be the best contact because of the position you hold as PERSON’S POSITION IN COMPANY!

- Jessica Boac

For LinkedIn, I had a specific character count for each message I was able to send. I had to make sure I made my request clear and simple. On the contrary, emailing allowed me to be more elaborative and personal. The emails I sent out were more along the lines of:

Dear PERSON’S NAME,

Good afternoon! I’m a Media and Communications senior at University of Maryland Baltimore County and I was wondering if you would have the time today to do a quick informational interview about your position as the PERSON’S POSITION at COMPANY NAME. The interview would be about ten questions that seek to answer my questions about a career in public relations and communications. I would kindly appreciate it if you were able to provide me less than five minutes of your busy schedule. It would be my honor to speak with a professional in regards to my future career. Thank you.

- Jessica Boac

When I was preparing the questions to ask, I immediately brainstormed what I personally wanted to know about the person’s position and career. I first had to make sure I had questions that allowed me to warm up to the interviewee. For example, I would first ask what the person’s position was and what duties come along with what she does. I then looked online to see what are some commonly asked questions during an informational interview. I found some questions to be very thought-provoking and interesting. For example, one question I found and later used in my own interviews was “Are you still working towards a dream job and if so, what would that dream job be?”

When it came time to actually do these interviews, I opted for phone interviews because of my busy schedule. For the recorded interviews, I found it challenging to record a person that is on speaker because of all the excess background noise from both parties. It was just the most convenient and time-saving for everyone. I wish my interviews were more professional and I wish I was more clear when asking questions. I feel like I struggled in creating a personal dialogue rather than just simply asking questions like I did. There were times when I tried to relate myself to the person’s answers, but it was not that often as I would have liked. According to Gershon, “Informational interviews, like all other networking interactions, are about being both instrumental and friendly, and the person granting the interview is generally much freer to be explicit about the instrumental nature of the interaction than the person asking for the interview” (98). My intentions were to not sound too much of a robot and to be friendlier because it should be a connection. For one of the interviews, I simply jotted down notes while on the phone with the interviewee. I had to make sure I was paying atttention to every word while also up to speed in real time. Of course I found this easier and a little less intimidating because it was not being recorded.

CATALINA SOFIA DANSBERGER DUQUE

Communications Manager for the CAHSS

University of Maryland, Baltimore County

Some of the questions I asked or WANTED to ask:

  1. What do you do at your job? What are your duties and responsibilities?
  2. How did you get this position? What education and experiences have led you to this current job?
  3. Which parts of your job do you find most exciting and challenging? Which parts of your job do you find most boring? Why?
  4. What are the skills that make you a successful employee?
  5. Has your job affected your lifestyle. If so, in what ways?
  6. what’s the best advice you’d give to someone interested in this field?

7. If you could do things all over again, would you choose the same path for yourself? Why?

8. What are your next goals? Is there a dream job you’re still seeking?

KAIT MCCAFFREY

Communications Manager for Social Media

University of Maryland Baltimore County

Some of the questions I asked or WANTED to ask:

  1. What is your position and how does it fit in UMBC?

2. What are your main duties responsibilities?

3. How did you get started in this field? What are your experiences and education background?

4. What is the most rewarding thing about working in this industry? The most challenging?

5. What skills make you successful in your position?

6. Have you ever made in mistakes when applying for a job in this field?

7. What’s the best advice you’d give to someone interested in this field?

8. Do you have a dream job?

9. How important has networking been for you?

10. If you could do things all over again, would you choose the same path for yourself? Why? What would you change?

ROXANNE DUCAS

Director of Communications

Rubenstein Public Relations

Some of the questions I asked:

  1. What company do you work for and what is your position?
  • Works as the Director of Communication at Rubenstein Public Relations, which is based in New York City.

2. What job experiences and education background have helped you obtain this position?

  • Has held important roles in companies and concentrated specifically on public relations. Worked at a marketing company as a promotional staff, was an intern at Social Media Delivered as their Public Relations and Social Media Intern, was also an intern at LeSportsac as their Public Relations and Marketing Intern, and most recently was the Corporate Communications Coordinator at AECOM.
  • Received a B.A. in Public Relations at the University of Alabama.

3. What skills are the most necessary for a job in public relations?

  • Public speaking because you’re always in communication with people and it’s not always over social media. A lot of times, you have to do presentations and even conference call meetings. It can be frightening at first, but eventually you kind of get used to it.
  • Creativity because you always have to be relevant to social media.
  • Writing skills because there of course is a lot of writing as you would imagine. From press releases, to social media content, to newsletters, to proposals. It’s never-ending.

4. Do you work more often individually or as a team?

  • A lot of the social media content is usually individual work. When it comes to posting content on social media, sometimes we offer each other feedback if needed.
  • I think team work is more predominant in getting my writing edited. I do also have to work with other departments in order to ensure consistency.

5. What job or volunteer experience was the most impactful to you?

  • I was a Media Relations Coordinator for a campaign called “Less Than U Think,” which tries to fight against drinking and driving as well as binge drinking in schools, specifically universities. It was based in where I had grown up and my school was very involved. It felt more like a personal experience because I was campaigning for something I felt strongly about.

6. What is the single most important aspect of your job and what you do?

  • COMMUNICATION! Getting my word across in addition to listening.

7. How useful were your internships?

  • Some people are unfortunate with internship experiences, but I actually enjoyed all of my internships. They have helped me get where I am today. I think my favorite internship was working for LeSportsac. I enjoyed working for a fashion company. Also got to work with other media sales teams (Teen Vogue Magazine and Glamour Magazine)

8. Who else would you recommend I talk to?

  • I highly advise you to also talk to people who work in entry-level positions. They are fresh into the career. They would be best knowledgeable with how entry-level positions are now-a-days and can guide you in the process of trying to find a job straight out of high school or whenever you choose to start your job searching.

--

--