The Job Hunt

Evan Peiffer
Professional Life in MCS
3 min readSep 2, 2017

My current internship being my first one, it will be an invaluable learning experience. It will be important for me to absorb everything I can. The tools I learn here will be the foundation for my potential Public Relations career. I’ve looked ahead at three different potential jobs I would apply for if I were currently in the job market. Based off their descriptions I will address how well I think I am qualified for the position and what I may still need to learn to excel in the position.

  1. Local ad: This is a Public Relations Manager position at Walden University. I believe for this job advertisement that much of my Public Relations skills that I have learned so far press release writing, media lists, and general outreach would be applicable. As I learn programs like Cision, through my internship, I could probably find those skills applicable as well.

https://jobs.laureate.net/job/baltimore/mgr-public-relations/673/5511173

2. National ad: This is another Public Relations Manager position for SocialCode in New York City. A company that seems to do digital advertising for it’s clients social media platforms. For this job I feel that not only would my writing capabilities in Public Relations come in handy but so would my skills with social media platforms. Skills with Adobe Photoshop, InDesign, and Illustrator would also work nicely as this would allow me to craft unique brands and come up with creative answers to the position’s requirements. I also feel my internship will help prepare me well to deal with the aspect of leading the PR direction and creating long term and rapid response plans, something which is better learned through hands on experience.

https://www.linkedin.com/jobs/view/437274143

3. International ad: This is a Public Relations and Marketing Account manager position actually in England. For this job I, again, feel fairly confident already in much of my Public Relations writing technique, which will only be refined through my internship experience. This job would certainly require much of that. The one thing I feel I would definitely need to improve on, and my internship does have opportunities to work on this, is media liaison capabilities. That is something I would be hard pressed to have at this early stage of my Public Relations career. Again self direction and leadership would be essential here and that is something I will develop over time and practice in the Public Relations field.

https://www.prweekjobs.co.uk/job/412778/pr-and-marketing-account-manager/

--

--