What I Have Learned…

Zoë Pekins
Professional Life in MCS
3 min readDec 10, 2017

From going to the career center I learned that I clearly have no idea how to write a resume or cover letter correctly. It is not that I got ripped into, but I need to completely reevaluate what is on those two pieces of my life and change from the critique that I received. It was expressed to me that recruiters and job interviewers take an average of 6 seconds to look at your resume most of the time not actually looking at it just skimming for certain words that are eye catching and relate to the job you are being interviewed for. Although, there were a couple of strengths that outweighed the weaknesses of my resume and cover letter and that consisted of how closely related both were and how all of the information on each were relevant to the job ads I had chosen.

https://gethandles.com/art-of-the-fake/

Following a checklist when creating a resume and cover letter I found to be extremely helpful when redoing the weaknesses throughout both. I was encouraged to do this at the writing center because it keeps you on task and helps with no straying away from the main points you are trying to address. Another crucial piece of information I was given from the writing center was to get numerous people from different types of jobs to review your resume and cover letter to get different opinions for fixing and editing. Getting different revisions can help you come out with a stronger and more accurate resume and cover letter. Getting your first thoughts out there and really targeting the job you are trying to get is crucial for first impressions with that job employer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eov7cwThNB0

After visiting with the career center I went back and took a look at the edits that were made on my resume and cover letter and did each edit I was told to do. After comparing both from the original to the edited I realized that for every interview or any time I need to present a resume or cover letter I need to go to the career center because they made my resume something I could not have done on my own because of my lack of knowledge. After going to the career center I have acquired enough knowledge to be able to help others with their resumes or cover letters and feel confident in doing so. From the feedback I was given on my resume and cover letter I changed the outline and where different information was placed and in my cover letter instead of talking about myself and not giving detail I added different examples and reasons why I qualify for the position that I am applying to.

--

--