My first API development

Manivasakam R
Professional Pirates
2 min readJan 20, 2018

Happy day, everyone!

On Jan 16, Dr Ashok had requested that a new web application be developed for counting the number of posts on the common blog.

I was glad to be the first one to publish a working web application for that challenge. I had spent at least two full days to develop this. After completing the development of the API, I was so happy because it worked! Try it out at http://cbcounter.herokuapp.com/

I shall explain in further detail below how I went about it.

  • The first step of the development is fetch the JSON data from the medium.com’s server. Actually, the medium server is very tough to access data and denied (400,401 unauthorized).
  • To overcome this, I surfed more and started to create an new API using Node JS.
  • Then I went on to create a web page for present the data which was fetch by the API.
  • I have posted my web application on gitter (http://j.mp/campsiteKG). My friends gayathri palanisamy and Dinesh Maxi identified some bugs in my application which helped me to update my API.

Ashok sir reviewed my application, and encouraged my work. Because of the encouragement, I feel like working more on my application!

Now, with this blog entry, I have changed my own blog count from zero to one!

As of now, I have earned two KGISL badges (including this one) and eagerly look forward to receiving them.

--

--