Introduction to Professionalism

Jacob Huber
Professionalism in the Workplace
2 min readSep 20, 2017

My name is Jacob Huber and I am a student at the University at Buffalo. After researching a variety of soft skills that are needed for the workplace, it was hard determining which one was more important than the rest. All of the articles I read talked about how no matter what skills you have, you need to be professional no matter the circumstance. That is why I chose to research and write about professionalism in the workplace. This is interesting to me as there are many skills being taught at schools such as communications, listening to other opinions, how to work in groups, and many more. However, not many schools are teaching about how to act professionally in the workplace. This relates to my philosophy of work because my philosophy was that people should do a job that they are passionate about. There no matter how passionate or excited someone is about a job, there are always parts and people that aren’t as easy to deal with. It is vital that people be able to stay professional in the workplace with the other employees. This skills will help anyone who is planning to work as acting as a professional is key to advancing in a company and keeping your job. I know that dressing professional is important but how to act needs to be just as big a part. I do want to learn how to handle a variety of situations with class and maturity which is something not taught in school. I intend to use what I learn at my own job and trying to act more professional at school. Not only that, I will talk to other people in my life about how they deal with situations at work and how to stay level headed and professional through all the trying times. I look forward to sharing what I learn.

--

--