Figuring Things Out

Anna Mazzucchelli
Professions in Writing
2 min readApr 26, 2017

If I have learned anything this year, which I think I’ve learned a lot, but the most important thing I’ve learned is that I am not destined to do just one thing. The first year of college was a stressful one. I was just figuring out what I wanted to major in and what classes interested me the most. Then I would go home for holidays and have nosey relatives asking me about everything. They would say, “what are you majoring in, Anna?” “and what do you want to do with your major after college?” “are you thinking about teaching, or doing something else?” I’ve always found it so interesting when I tell people I love to read and write that they automatically assume I want to be a teacher. So every holiday that came around and the inevitable questions that were always asked I simply responded “yes” to everything, mainly because I didn’t know the answers and that always frustrated me. Why did I need to know everything about my future right now?

Going in to my sophomore year I was sick of those questions, and for some reason felt too embarrassed to simply say, “I’m not sure what I want to do with my future.” Then I had a realization, who cares. I’m sure the family members that ask me these questions do genuinely care but for the people that I see a couple times a year are probably only interested in keeping the conversation going, they don’t truly care that I don’t have everything figured out yet.

Every time I have these conversations I spend at least the next hour thinking about my future. And for some reason I always try to find one job that would be perfect for me. This whole year, especially this semester after taking this class, I’ve realized I don’t need to find one job that is destined for me. I’m passionate about a lot and I am confident there is an array of jobs out there for me that I will end up loving.

--

--