“What do you want to do with that?”

James Sanders
Professions in Writing
2 min readJan 31, 2017

Last week in class I had the opportunity to listen to a presentation from David Ballou, a technical writer for Belcan Engineering Group, LLC. While technical writing doesn’t particularly peak my interest for an internship or potential career, David provided plenty of beneficial information about careers in writing in general as well as what he looks for when hiring interns or candidates for jobs.

For me, he provided reassurance that it is absolutely okay to not know what I want to do after I graduate college. Thankfully, I am on track to graduate in five years instead of the seven years it took David to get his degree. But like him, I too have changed my major multiple times, and to this day am unsure of what career I truly want to have. Like many people in today’s day and age, David did not begin his career in the field that he works in now. In addition, the field that he works in now is only remotely related to what he studied while in college. It is so refreshing to hear from professionals like David about how their educational and career interests have developed and changed over time. For many college students, there is pressure from parents and relatives, friend’s parents, and even strangers to know what you want to do with your life. Maybe pressure isn’t the best word choice — I’ll go with “an expectation” instead. These individuals are typically just curious and mean to be endearing with their questions, but for myself and many other 20-something-year-old college students, the “What are you majoring in?” and “What do you want to do with that?” questions do weigh those of use who are unsure down. They make us feel like we are inferior to other students who know what they want to do (or at least think they know what they want to do).

I’m sorry I don’t want to be a doctor or a nurse. I’m sorry I don’t want to be a teacher. I’m sorry I don’t want to be a lawyer. I’m sorry that I can’t answer the “What do you want to do with that?” question about my communication major with any degree of certainty. But I do know one thing; I am willing to learn. And, I’m willing to learn until I find something that I’m good at and enjoy doing. David told us that when he is interviewing candidates for jobs or internships, this desire to learn all but guarantees that the candidate will be hired. David isn’t alone in this either. Business News Daily reported the results of a recent study showing that “30 percent of executives said having a willingness to keep learning is the characteristic they consider most necessary for an employee to succeed” (http://www.businessnewsdaily.com/9256-career-boost-learning.html#sthash.eAtyJVWC.dpuf).

Feel free to cite this study the next time you are asked about your professional future. And most importantly, know that you are not alone in your uncertainty, and you are certainly not inferior.

--

--