Why Do You Write?

Hannah Abshire
Professions in Writing
2 min readMar 28, 2017

As a child, I never thought much about a future career as an author, because I followed the dreams of someone else. Growing up, I was taught that in order to be successful; you have to make a lot money. I felt so pressured. My dad often said, “Unless you wanted to do hard labor for long hour hours like me, then you should study to be a doctor or lawyer.” When I was younger, I struggled in school and overwhelmed myself because I wanted to be successful. I didn’t know that I was losing myself in that process.

During my senior year of high school, I took a college English 101/102 course that was taught by Mr. Cornett. He introduced me to the various genres and forms of writing and how it’s used in everything around us. Written language produces the movies we watch, music we hear, and of course, the stores we read. It’s in the commercials that persuade us and in the politics that make our government. Mr. Cornett taught me that I could be successful through writing because writing is versatile.

I began to find myself again by writing in journals, but feared someone would read them and judge me. I didn’t think my writing was good enough and I didn’t think my dad would approve of my dreams. I put my happiness aside in order to be successful in the way he thought was best. When I began college, I was still determined to be what my dad envisioned, but I soon realized that wouldn’t work out.

I was miserable and felt trapped inside my body. I was failing classes because I wasn’t passionate about anything anymore. I thought I would fail out of college, but with the help of some great people, I learned that in order to be successful, you have to do what makes you happy. When I felt sad as a little girl, stories about any happy fairy-tale would cure my blue mood. Then, when I learned how to write, I discovered you could create your own story, in print, and not just inside your head.

As I write, I discover more ways writing has made me successful. When I write, I learn about myself and my reality. I write to learn, but I also write to create. When I write, I can find myself without losing anyone. The words within my head come to life as they as scribbled onto paper. I write when I need a friend. After changing my career path, I’ve started to do better in school and found motivation again. I hope someday to write a book that inspires someone to write their own.

--

--