Better Every Day’s Humble Beginnings

Tomas Gallucci
Professor Tom’s Better Every Day
3 min readMay 10, 2023

--

This is the beginning of ProfessorTom’s Better Every Day Newsletter on Medium. This will be a mirror of a Section of my SubStack newsletter. I’m experimenting with Sections on SubStack and don’t know what I’m doing there. But for the same reason I started a SubStack Section for this Better Every Day project, I’ve also started a similar Medium Publication: if you only want to subscribe to this publication and not all of my posts, here’s the link for that [tk add the link after making a draft/post].

The idea here is twofold.

First, I think I’ve found something that I can use to help others better their lives. And yes, that also includes my own.

The product pictured above is a copy of Better Than Yesterday. Somehow, I got it in my head that the name of the game was Better Every Day and that it promoted being a game for an entire year. If you look closely at the front of the box pictured below, that’s not what they promise:

What they do say is that there are “365 daily challenges”. The cards are marked with hashtags like #BetterThanYesterday129 where the number at the end is the number of the day in the year. This means that every four years, there will be a single day where you won’t be better than yesterday. Oddly enough, that day will be the day before New Years.

I said the idea here is twofold. Here’s the other idea: I need to get in the habit of writing something publicly every day. I was going to try this at the beginning of this year with Encyclopedia Reading which I may still attempt to get started and write about on a regular basis this year. But boy is this year moving fast!

So, the premise is simple: I’ll post the prompt and my response to the card for the day. I’m not sure if I’m going to be able to post every day, but given that I got a few folks interested in the concept on SubStack Notes, I thought I’d give this a go to see if I can keep from breaking the chain.

If you want to play along, leave a reply on the day’s post when you do the challenge.

It’s ok if you miss a day or two. It’s also ok if you want to batch the days together. The only rules are that you take the challenge seriously and you share when you complete a challenge.

It’s ok to object to a challenge. I’m sure there’s going to be some in here that I won’t want to do or will refuse to do. You don’t need to violate your own conscience for a few internet points.

How many days do you think you’ll be able to keep up the challenge?

--

--