Should You Script Your Podcast?

Joe Casabona
Podcast Workflows
Published in
4 min readDec 21, 2023

--

One of the most frustrating things to me when is calling support and getting the script. You know what I’m talking about — the set of things every support person has to say before they actually get to the part where they can help you.

To the customer, this is a weird form of gatekeeping that surely doesn’t serve any purpose besides annoying us. But to the support agent, it’s a way to screen and filter the possibly hundreds of calls they get each day.

To the organization, and likely some large number of customers, that script is crucial for the best overall experience.

I often get asked if podcasters should use a script for their episodes — especially solo shows. And the answer, unsurprisingly, is, “it depends.”

Here are a couple of things to consider when weighing the pros and cons of scripting your show.

For more writing like this, subscribe to my newsletter. You can also follow me on LinkedIn

Be comfortable in front of the mic

First, let me say that you should do what works for you, and if scripting helps, then script.

But the root of this question for many people is whether or not they feel comfortable in front of the mic. Scripting helps you make sure you cover all the bases but no matter what you need to be comfortable talking into a mic or you’ll sound unnatural.

I recommend getting your reps in and practicing a few times. The more you do something, the better you’ll get, and the more comfortable you’ll feel.

Are there times you definitely should or should not script?

I tend not to speak in absolutes, but there are some times where a script can really help, or harm, a podcast episode.

If you’re doing an interview or a host/co-host show, it’s probably not best to script. It’s going to sound canned and fake, and it will not be enjoyable to listen to. If there are specific points you want to cover, you can always do another take with your guest, or really iron out the details in the pre-show interview.

On the other hand, if you have a fictional show, audio drama, or very clear story you want to tell, I’d say it absolutely needs to be scripted. Sure, there are some great unscripted moments in TV and movies, but the vast majority of the great moments have been planned out and set up for the correct emotional impact.

All that said, you still might be wondering if you should script your podcast.

Pros of Scripting

Let’s look at a good, old fashioned pros and cons list. First the pros. These are going to work best when you know exactly what you want to say.

  • You will control the entire story you’re telling, and will be less susceptible to ad-libbing or saying something you don’t want, or don’t mean, to say.
  • There’s a lot more planning, so your recording should require less editing (or at least, it will go more smoothly).
  • No need to pay for a transcript.
  • You will make all the points you want to make, in the order you want to make them.

Cons of Scripting

OK so that’s the good. What about the bad?

  • It’s more likely you’ll sound like you’re reading, which can feel unnatural (or at least, it takes a lot more work to sound natural).
  • If you want to read the script verbatim, there will be more “takes” to get it right.
  • It takes more time to do the episode — write the script, record it verbatim, then edit, publish, etc.
  • If you ad-lib, you’ll need to remember your spot, and depending on how true to audio you want the script, go back and modify it (or have the episode transcribed anyway).

So What Do You Do?

It depends on who you are and what you like. For How I Built It, I don’t script. I plan a lot, and I go over the story beats with my guest to make sure we’re still telling a good story. But I don’t think a script would be great for interviews, as I record them today.

What has changed for me in recent years is I do script my solo episodes. I want to make sure I’m telling a good story, and presenting the problem/solution in an easy to follow way. And since they’re usually pretty short episodes, I don’t want to ramble.

If you write the way you talk, you’re more likely to sound natural because it will be more natural!

Ultimately, you want to make great content. If writing everything out helps you do that, definitely script your show.

For more writing like this, subscribe to my newsletter. You can also follow me on LinkedIn

--

--

Joe Casabona
Podcast Workflows

I am a podcast systems coach who helps busy solopreneurs take back their time. I do that by helping you create systems for automation and delegation