How I outsmarted the smartest people in the world. Hacking Mensa.

Reverend Kenny Tran
Profundus Journal
Published in
2 min readSep 18, 2017

So today I just hacked Mensa. Guess I’m officially a Mensa member now… To explain-

I’m sitting here writing up a report to send to them so they can patch up their security vulnerabilities. I don’t want to get in legal trouble afterall.

I wanted to prove a point.

As you can see here from this screenshot, I was able to gain access to Mensa International’s website and put my picture up. I could see and do all the things that members could do including use the private forums. So I’m basically a Mensa member now. By force.

Now Mensa requires a 132+ score on standard IQ tests for admissions. This is near genius level, or the top 2% of the population. It’s a high IQ society for those that want to Google it.

IQ is balony. It doesn’t mean a thing. It never has and it never will.

When I was in 5th grade I tested in the top 2% of California State, was enrolled in the state Gifted and Talented Education Program (GATE), and graduated Saludatorian from my entire elementary school of over 2,000 students. That’s a self calculated IQ of 1 out of approximately 1,000 or the top 0.1% (compared to Mensa top 2%).

Back then, I know it was all rubbish. I already knew IQ has nothing to do with your character, your intellect, and your success potential in life.

So the other day I decided to join another high IQ society, I joined the Profundus High IQ Society which required a 160 IQ to join (compared to Mensa’s 132). I’ve never taken an IQ test before, so I took the admissions IQ exam and barely passed. That day, the founder made me editor of the official journal.

So what did I decide to do? I decided it was time to prove a point.

So I put my business and technology skills to good use and set about to hack Mensa. I wanted to be Mensa member, but not through ordinary means. I wanted in on this exclusive group by demonstrating my IQ to them in full blown public view.

So after a lot of tinkering around, I was able to find a security vulernability and the rest was history.

So will you accept this as my application? With all due respect. I’m not hating on Mensa, they’re probably good decent people who just want to be around other intellectuals. Me too. But I could never pass that pesky IQ test.

Well hopefully in the future, other high IQ societies will take note and rethink their admissions policies to be more welcoming of people with all different types of intelligence. Not just the standard IQ one on paper.

--

--