There are Innovations in Academia

I read an article about why innovations in academia is rare. Is it though?

For computer related technology and computer science itself, that is not entirely true. Arpanet was a military and academic collaboration. Knuth did quite a bit of innovating for word processing, digital typesetting, etc. etc. Most of the OS stuff was done in universities. Heck, even Linux was done when Linus was still a student.

I guess the title needs to be eye-catching, and conforming to the “gut feeling” of many people to get them to read it. I am definitely not the intended audience. Nuances are not what most people are looking for.

Remember, engineering comes first, then technology, and finally science. And after that, it goes the other way. It is a virtuous cycle. Don’t diss any one of the three necessary nodes in that cycle.

--

--

Khun Yee Fung, Ph.D.
Programming is Life

I am a computer programmer. Programming is a hobby and also part of my job as a CTO. I have been doing it for more than 40 years now.