It’s OK to Dance Outside of the Lines

Amy Notley
Progressive Arts Alliance
2 min readNov 16, 2017

I danced in paint with kindergarteners! Yes, you heard me. With the help of one of my favorite artists (who is also a wonderful teacher), I rolled up my pant legs, turned on some jazz music and filled a canvas with tiny feet and big colors.

This class is learning about the seasons of the year and the weather. This is very common for kindergarten this time of year. I’ve been fortunate to teach this subject through dance many times in different ways. At the beginning of this year, when we were planning this project, someone asked me if I could paint. This was at a meeting where it was made clear that I was a dance educator. I thought about the question for a long time.

I decided that yes, I can paint! Creative problem solving is one of the best things about my job. My fellow artist, Lynda, helped me create the canvas that would become our dance floor. We prepped the classroom with plastic, wrapped all those little feet with plastic shoe covers, and then we poured the paint. It was great to see the expressions on each small face when students realized they were allowed, even encouraged, to step in paint. They were timid at first, but once the music started they really let go and enjoyed themselves.

This class, in particular, has provided a really good start to the school year for me, and I’ve loved thinking, creating, painting and dancing outside of the lines.

--

--