Too much force?

Progressive Arts Editor
Progressive Arts Alliance
1 min readApr 18, 2014

Three of my four classes this semester are first graders learning about force and motion. At first I thought this was wonderful because I could combine my lesson plans and I would be working with the same ideas and there would be great continuity. Thinking again, I was worried and started to see a bit of stagnation in the lessons. I needed to stay fresh in my approach in teaching these three classes. Then something happened, a child in one of my classes said as we were walking to the gym for dance class, “this takes just a little energy.” Her class is learning about energy and how it affects force and motion. I realized that I had to relate the topic to myself and each class as an individual entity. It was perfectly okay to do a little more with one group and a bit less with another. It’s okay to use more force some times. (The little girl is in a class that gets a little more force and their dance is looking really good.)

--

--