FAQs

Kate Fink
Progressive Communicators of Washington, D.C.
4 min readApr 19, 2019

Q. What is Progressive Communicators of Washington, D.C.?

A. Progressive Communicators of Washington, D.C. is an informal network of people working in traditional communications and new media who are committed to progressive causes and organizations. Our goal is to improve the ability of our network’s members to serve progressive organizations by sponsoring trainings and speakers; sharing tips, strategies and best practices; and providing forums for progressive communicators to share information, including an email list.

Q. Is there a membership fee?

A. PCDC has never charged a membership fee and has never charged for trainings or happy hours. We rely entirely on volunteer efforts and the generosity of sponsors.

Q. Who manages PCDC?

A. PCDC has a steering committee of volunteer members who maintain the website, plan events and update content on Facebook, Twitter, etc. The list of steering committee members is here.

Q. How do I sign up for the PCDC email list?

A. The email to join PCDC is now pcdc+subscribe@groups.io and to send an email to the group, email is pcdc@groups.io.

Q. Who is in charge of the email list?

A. PCDC’s email list is open, which means that any postings could be forwarded to others. The list is also unmoderated, which means that we ask all members of our community to voluntarily abide by the email list guidelines. Please remember to consider whether you want certain comments to be public before you post (for example, remarks about your organization or its leadership).

Q. Can I join the steering committee?

A. We welcome all volunteers to help with events and other activities, but at the current time there are no slots open on the steering committee. If you’d like to volunteer in some way, please let us know here.

Q. I am interested in helping organize a PCDC event. Who should I contact for more information?

A. It’s wonderful to have your participation. You can get started by emailing the PCDC Steering Committee here. PCDC is also eager to co-sponsor events with other groups.

Q. Can I post my resume on the email list or website if I am looking for a job or consulting opportunities?

A. No. The email list and website are intended for sharing information and ideas, not soliciting job offers or advertising services.

Q. If someone on the list asks for recommendations for a particular service such as web designers, graphic designers, photographers, etc., and I provide that service, is it okay to notify the poster?

A. Yes. It is okay to offer your services in response to a specific request for those kind of services. What we discourage is advertisements for services when no one on the list has asked for them.

Q. I am an expert in my field. May I advertise my upcoming training or seminar?

A. If the training or seminar is free, please post a notice to the PCDC email list and share your expertise. If you are charging money for the event or for materials, we ask that you do not. If you are not sure, please share your posting first with prsue[AT]rothpr.com or mfriedman[AT]dupontcirclecommunications.com and ask if it falls within the list guidelines. It is permitted for a third party who will not financially benefit from the event to notify members about events with fees.

Q. A consultant that my organization uses and likes is offering a training on web design and internet strategy and it costs $150 to attend. Can I post a notice to the list even though it costs money?

A. Yes. It is helpful to have your recommendation for this person’s work. Since you are making a recommendation, and not incurring income yourself, this posting would be welcome on the email list. In addition, members are encouraged to provide recommendations to each other in response to requests for referrals.

Q. I have developed a new product that I am offering for sale. I think it will be of interest to the PCDC community. Can I advertise it on the email list?

A. No, we kindly ask that you do not. Postings designed to incur income to you or your business are not considered appropriate.

Q. I am a communications consultant and just landed a great article on the front page of the New York Times on behalf of my client. Can I post the article (my achievement) on the email list?

A. We ask that you do not. Since we have so many successful nonprofit communications staff and consultants in the PCDC community, the list would quickly become inundated. The exception to this rule would be if you are sharing the placement as part of a “best practices” example that details the lessons you learned during the process of getting your article placed or guidance that would benefit others on the list (for example, how you positioned a particular report as newsworthy, when ordinarily it would not be).

Q. I’m a blogger on Huffington Post. May I provide a link to my blog posts and ask my colleagues in the PCDC community to provide comments?

A. We ask that you do not use the PCDC email list to drive traffic to your own writing. The exception to this rule would be writing that provides guidance on improving communications strategies and tactics to further progressive causes and ideas.

Q. I’m looking for a roommate (or a dentist or a place to take my parents to dinner, etc.) Can I ask the email list if I write “off topic” in the subject line?

A. No. Our members get many emails from many sources. It is best if the PCDC email list is reserved for professional development purposes.

Q. I have a question that is not addressed here. Whom should I contact?

A. If you are unsure of what is appropriate to post to the email list, or if you have a question, please email prsue[AT]rothpr.com or mfriedman[AT]dupontcirclecommunications.com.

--

--