It’s not you, it’s me.

But I Digress
The Progressive Poet
1 min readOct 22, 2017

I’ve changed. A lot.

Since I first heard Bernie Sanders speak in the summer of 2015.

Since I watched with incredulous eyes his rise in the primary polls.

Since I allowed myself to believe real change from within might be possible.

Since I witnessed the inevitable coronation and unmasked deceit.

Since the fearmongering started and the vote shaming took hold.

Since straightfaced reporters began spinning tales of Vladimir Putin influencing Pokemon Go.

Since hearing that any view outside the kumbaya mainstream narrative was the result of Russian propaganda.

Since being told I was too dumb to think for myself and must trust that up is down and wrong is right.

Since the purge of progressive voices within the DNC and the reemergence to rule-making duties of an avowed liar and rule-breaker.

Since learning that leaked information was only good if it made Republicans look bad.

Or vise versa.

Otherwise it was part of some vast conspiracy.

Did I mention Pokemon Go?

What’s sad is that I ever allowed myself to become the apathetic person I was before I changed.

I was once full of ideals.

I am once again.

This time I vow to fight to stay that way.

--

--

But I Digress
The Progressive Poet

I write rants and miscellaneous musings no one reads. Politically progressive pacifist (try saying that five times fast)