The Secret to Political Persuasion

The Change Conversation Cycle can teach you how to change minds.

Karin Tamerius
Progressively Speaking

--

Photo by Patrick Hendry on Unsplash

No one is born knowing how to talk politics across difference, but everyone can learn how with the help of this simple model.

When I was seven years old, I received a bike for Christmas. It was awesome. Except the bike was a little too big for me and I had no idea how to ride it.

My parents sent me wheeling with the neighborhood kids anyway, assuming I suppose that I’d figure it out on my own. Eventually I did but not without several accidents along the way, including one where I ran into a neighbor’s garage door after careening down their 25°-incline driveway.

In retrospect, I can’t help but wonder if I could have avoided all of the anxiety, property damage, and abrasions with a pair of training wheels. But my parents didn’t suggest them and, frankly, I probably would have rejected the idea if they had.

Conversational Training Wheels

Let’s be honest. Nobody wants to use training wheels. They’re ugly and clunky and awkward, an embarrassing admission of imperfection and ignorance almost as gawky as braces.

--

--

Karin Tamerius
Progressively Speaking

Political psychiatrist | Pragmatic progressive | Smart Politics founder (JoinSmart.org) | Speaker