Day 31: Reflections on the End

Tessa Char
Project 31
Published in
2 min readMar 26, 2020

Alas, day 31. I’ve made it (mostly) through this challenge. I think I might have missed two days, but we’re here.

How was the experience?

  • First 10 days: It was a good opportunity to get my floating thoughts down onto paper. I wrote about things I did, how I was feeling.
  • Day 10–20: I was hitting writer’s block, running out of things to write about. With the Covid-19 lock down, I was also staying indoors, not going out much and not doing much, and thereby not having a lot to write about. Nevertheless, I still managed to write about things I was experiencing and more about Covid.
  • Day 20–30: Still running out of topics to write about, I ventured into a bit of creative writing (Day 22) and into a foreign language (Day 23).

What have I learned during this past month of committing to writing at least 100 words a day?

  • It doesn’t take very long to put pen to paper (or more like fingers to keypad) to crank out 100 words — the hardest part is starting and finding a topic to run with.
  • When the topics run out, that’s when creativity starts to kick in.

What next?

I have formed the habit of committing to Project 31 and putting something, anything up, even if it’s half-baked and mediocre. I think I could continue to write each day, but I need prompts to guide me. The barrier of not knowing what to write about is a big enough barrier to deter me from doing the task altogether.

I’m not sure what comes next after Project 31, but know that writing should be a part of it.

--

--

Tessa Char
Project 31

(W)righting the wrongs in the world in justice, feminism, dating, self-help, travel, mental health, and well-life. https://linktr.ee/tessachar