Talking to the Moon — Bruno Mars (Song-Inspired Entry)

Evolving Elizabeth
Project Divine
Published in
2 min readMar 28, 2024
Photo by Sierra NiCole Narvaeth on Unsplash

We spent such as short time together that you should be considered nothing more than a speed bump on the road of my life.

You took that pretty car and crashed it right into my temple.

A robbery and the ransom was my heart.

Such an expensive thing to take.

Such a beloved antique.

I’m surprised someone found it.

I’m glad someone else is keeping it safe.

Holding it hostage, knowing I can’t pay the price to get it back.

Now, I find myself late at night talking to the moon about you.

She understands and weeps with me.

Are you enjoying the rain? Or should I send it away?

Tell Luna to shift the tides in your favor.

I continue to reach out, but the voice in my brain tells me to release our short-lived romance.

Do you glance up and see me instead of the man on the moon?

I learned about your daily schedule and remembered your upcoming trips.

My mother expressed concerns for my well-being ever since you left.

She recognized my lie behind “I’m fine.”

It’s about time.

Maybe some good has come out of this.

The stolen masterpiece is nothing but a blank canvas.

I would turn to painting again,

but I’m too busy looking up

at a celestial being

Do you talk to her, too?

🧿🖤Elizabeth🖤🧿

If you enjoyed this post: please clap, comment, and follow.

Follow my newest pursuit, “Project Divine,” a spiritually-led publication.

Don’t miss out on discovering my Amazon Affiliate shop for candles, seasonal gifts, and more!

--

--

Evolving Elizabeth
Project Divine

intuitively led writer | religion - philosophy - witchcraft - spirituality