Jason Zook
Project Galaxy
Published in
3 min readAug 31, 2015

--

9/22 Update: This project is now live at BuyMyFuture.com

Processes and Emotions

The processes are repeatable, the emotions are new every time.

Things like to-do lists, design work, writing, revenue projections, etc, are all processes that are fairly straightforward. I can setup a new MailChimp list, brand it, and create a customized onboarding sequence in a very short period of time. It’s something I’ve done many times before and I can easily repeat previous steps from previous projects.

What’s not repeatable in any process associated with Project Galaxy are the emotions that go along with it. The other day I found myself having some real resistance to writing an email that had to do with website feedback. Usually this type of work is easy for me. But due to the pressure I’m putting on myself for this project, it took way longer than it should have (and if I’m being completely honest, the extra time was spent procrastinating and had nothing to do with the amount of work itself).

I started to beat myself up a little bit, thinking: “Jason, why are you procrastinating? Just get this task done and move on. You’ve done stuff like this tons of times before.”

But then it hit me… Yes, I’ve written a website feedback email before, but never for this website and under these exact circumstances. Of course I’m going to have a different outlook and encounter a different set of emotions.

Coming to this realization felt like a mini-breakthrough for me. It created a moment of acceptance and changed my outlook on why I felt extra resistance to tasks that I’d easily gotten done before.

Emotions are a funny thing. If you’ve seen the movie Inside Out (which I’d highly recommend), then you know just how funny they can be. Realizing these emotions exist and can have a powerful affect on you can be really enlightening. It may not actually make your (and my) work easier to do, but I do feel like it helps. I believe it’s important to accept your emotions and thoughts so you might be able to use them to your advantage (or at least accept the figure-four-leg-lock they’re putting on you).

Image credit: Forbes.com and Pixar

This is a different type of journal entry for Project Galaxy, but hey, that’s the point of these right? Not to just spout off how perfect everything is going, but to share the real thoughts and feelings behind working on a big project.

I’d love to pretend that every aspect of this project is running smoothly, but that’s not real life and that’s not how any project ever goes (ever!).

Here’s hoping coming to terms with my emotions helps me get through the processes faster.

Three Weeks Out!

It’s hard to believe, but as of writing this entry we’re 21 days away from launch. Tomorrow I’m going to dive a bit into my initial launch plans, especially because it’ll be interesting to see how they change over the next few weeks.

I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: Thank you for joining me on this adventure. It can be a bit uncomfortable to share my raw thoughts and emotions publicly, but I strongly believe in this journal and that it can help other entrepreneurs in their journeys (as well as help me!).

This entry is part of a 60-day journal I’m writing that will share all my planning, strategies, pre-launch efforts, and marketing tactics leading up to a big crazy project codenamed Project Galaxy. Start reading here.

--

--