Jason Zook
Project Galaxy
Published in
4 min readSep 18, 2015

--

9/22 Update: This project is now live at BuyMyFuture.com

What Launch Day Will Look Like

I thought it would be fun to share the details of what next Tuesday (Sept 22) will look like for Project Galaxy.

Jason is up to something list

Did you know I have a pre-launch list that will get first access to the announcement of Project Galaxy? Well if you didn’t, now you do. This list will get an email at 10am EST / 7am PST on launch day.

The Action Army

The Action Army is my main email list. This group of people will also get first access at 10am EST. Why send both groups an email at the same time? Because I know that not everyone wants to be subscribed to my weekly email list. That’s why the pre-launch list exists.

JasonDoesStuff.com article

I obviously need to promote this project on my own website. This article will probably be a similar variation of the launch email that goes out to the email list.

JasonDoesStuff.com welcome note

I’m not a fan of website pop-ups, pop-outs, exit intents, etc. I just don’t like how obtrusive they are to the experience of a website (not to mention, most of them are ugly). I whipped up a simple welcome note that will takeover the entire JasonDoesStuff.com website when you visit any page of the site for the first time. While I know that sounds obtrusive, when you see it in action I think you’ll be okay with it.

20ish podcast interviews go live

I think the total number of podcast interviews I did for Project Galaxy is 23. Not all of them are going live on Sept 22, but most of them are.

Product Hunt feature

My friends at Product Hunt are going to feature Project Galaxy. Pretty stoked about this, as I’m a big fan of Product Hunt and love sharing my projects with their community.

The social medias

I’ll have a few tweets and a Facebook post ready to go for launch. These will go up shortly after my emails get sent out. This includes taking the time to create some fun visuals that are unique for each platform. I’ll have a clip of the Project Galaxy video to share on Instagram as well.

Misfit partner email

My friends who run Misfit Inc are a partner of Project Galaxy. They have an awesome conference that I’ve attended the past three years. It’s truly been a life-changing event for me, so I take a ton of pride in being a part of their community. I’ve already written the email that will go out to my fellow Misfit Con attendees.

Gumroad feature

Gumroad is the payment processor I’m using for Project Galaxy and they’re doing a fun write-up about Project Galaxy for the Gumroad Blog. I’ve already helped collaborate with them on the feature and I think it should be a fun angle of the project to share and read.

Medium launch article

This Project Galaxy journal will officially conclude the day before launch. This was intentional. On launch day I’ll have a launch article that will be much like the article I share on JasonDoesStuff. It will talk specifically about the project, but it will also recap some thoughts about this 60-day journal.

Asking friends to share on social

I have a list of friends that I’ll be pestering on launch day to help spread the word. While one tweet doesn’t go as far as it used to, I’m certainly not going to miss out on the opportunity that my project catches someone’s eye. I have a Google Spreadsheet with a list of people to harass on launch day.

Other launch things?

There are a few other things that will either happen on launch day or the day after (to spread out some of the launch love).

Live video Q&A

I love a good Q&A session. I’m thinking this will happen the day after launch. I’m not sure what platform I want to use for this. I might do it on Periscope or Meerkat, or I might use something like Crowdcast (which uses Google Hangouts).

Daily Project Galaxy podcast

This is in the “other launch things” category because as of writing this specific journal entry, I’m still not sure I want to undertake a daily podcast for the two week launch period. If I do end up committing to this podcast, I plan on including a really fun element to a short 10-minute show: A daily financial recap. What if I don’t sell any $1,000 units one day? Well, I’d explain how that felt and be honest about it.

I’m sure there’s more

My brain is a swirling mess at the moment. Emotions, to-do items, a few last minute interviews. I’m probably leaving a few things out, but I’ll update this entry if I remember any thing.

4 More Sales!

There were 4 more pre-launch purchases yesterday. Wahoo! One of which came all the way from South Africa. And another that happened live during a podcast interview (the interviewer bought!). Pretty awesome.

I’m going to update the expenses journal entry with the final numbers next week, but it looks like Project Galaxy has officially hit break-even. Before launch. Fist pump!

Another Video Teaser

And I’ll leave you with the second video teaser. There will be one more teaser before the big video reveal when the project gets announced next week. Man oh man, the emotions are flowing as we inch closer and closer to launch day.

This entry is part of a 60-day journal I’m writing that will share all my planning, strategies, pre-launch efforts, and marketing tactics leading up to a big crazy project codenamed Project Galaxy. Start reading here.

--

--