Productive Thursday

Khemry Khourn
When You’re Bored
4 min readSep 3, 2020

This morning as soon as I woke up I kept thinking about how I should write an email, a medium length one, to summarize an issue I’ve been trying to fix a few days now. I planned to skip my morning shower so that I could go to the office as soon as I could.

But my other self told me to slow down and take my time to get ready as usual.

After my 1st stand-up (of Project A)of the day, I managed to finish the email and sent to prospective recipients. I was hoping to get a reply or Team chat about that email but I got nothing until the 2nd stand-up (of Project B) occurred. During that time, our client said they understood the situation and fully on board with the workaround that proposed in the email. I was happy. :D

I thought that would be the highlight of my day until I got the following email from my tech lead (of Project B):

I was really touched reading that email. It was AWESOME!!!

During lunch break, I had a great catch up with my ex-boss and colleagues at an Indian restaurant in the same building of my office. Jeremy was such a great Team Lead and is still a good friend of mine. He has just got married recently and as you could see in this photo he is living his best life. LoL

The food was huge for me. I packed the leftover which would become my 2 other meals…

Tandoori Chicken! It was awesome!

After work, I had a board game appointment at Counter Culture. YES!!! We played Wingspan. It was my first time playing this game. It was a bit hard to digest all the rules but it was a beautiful and fun game. Normally, when we played at Counter Culture, we would spend at least 4 hours there. Time flies when we play board game. For this reason, it’s important to book a table in advance in order to secure our table. Unfortunately, this time we could only stay for 2 hours as Serge didn’t book the table properly. For this reason, we couldn’t finish the game completely. We just wrapped up when we were asked to leave. :’(

Wingspan

Since my board game session ended 2 hours earlier than expected, I had time to tape and hang my 1000-pieces-jigsaw puzzle! It took me about 20 mn to tape the puzzle together and hang it on the wall.

It was not the best but i’m satisfied with this quick and affordable way. :D

This is not just a normal jigsaw puzzle but a glow-in-the-dark one. But I failed to take a picture of when it glowed. It was too dark for a phone camera. :(

So here is the line of how it would look like during the dark. In the dark, those red color below is glowing in green.

One last thing before going to bed tonight, I had to prepare for my Toastmaster meeting tomorrow. I’ll be taking on a role as Grammarian.

Being Grammarian is an exercise in improving your listening skills.
You have three basic responsibilities:
1. to comment on the positive and negative uses of English during the meeting;
2. to introduce a new word and explain the correct use of it;
3. to count the use of ‘crutches’ such as ‘um’ and ‘err’. (Sometimes this role is performed by a separate Ah Counter.)
All of these are designed to help your fellow members improve their use of language.

I’ll need to come up with word of the day for the meeting. The key of choosing the word is to make sure it’s relevant and easy to use in the meeting. It’s usually not easy at all.

By the time that I’m writing this story, I still haven’t found the word.

That’s all for today. Hope you have a great day!

Cheers,

Khemry

--

--