See how the top three magnets are stuck together, instead of having a white divider between them? That’s bad. But there’s an easy way to get them apart.

Whoops, your super-strong magnets are stuck together. Now what?

Andrew Reuter
Project Lab

--

You bought a stack of super-strong magnets. You took off one magnet to test it out, then, satisfied, tried to put it back on the stack. Instead, you sent a plastic divider flying across the room and now have two magnets stuck together. And boy, are they stuck together.

How will you get them apart?

Here’s one quick trick.

Full disclosure: I way underestimated the power of these magnets. When I tried to put a magnet back on the stack by hand, my fingers just weren’t capable of holding onto the loose magnet and stack of magnets without one flying out to greet the other. Indeed, I tried this twice, sending not one but two plastic dividers soaring. One of them almost hit me in the face. Whoops!

In one of the shots in this video, you see the magnet stack go flying out of the vise. Turns out, the magnet I was lowering down was backwards, so the polarity forced the two apart. So that’s why there are red markings on the backs of the discs. …

Special thanks to my father-in-law, Neil, for building me this wooden vise. If you don’t have such a device, no problem. You could probably use a pliers or a bench vise with some wood around the jaws to prevent the magnets from being repelled by the steel. Let me know if that works out for you.

As always, please like/subscribe if you enjoyed the video. That really helps me out.

Thanks for watching!

--

--

Andrew Reuter
Project Lab

DIYer, Project Lab. Web-editor-type, Lee Enterprises. Dad/husband. @djnf, @theexponentnews, @uwplatteville alum. Seeking best obtainable version of the truth.