You Are Not Your Job

Finding who you are outside of your 9-to-5

Jaclyn Havington
Project Rollplay

--

Job doesn’t provide disposable income to pay for a Medium membership? No worries! Non-members can read this story here for free!

Photo by JESHOOTS.COM on Unsplash

So tell me a little about yourself

Oftentimes, when we introduce ourselves to new people or respond to the prompt, “Tell me about yourself” our immediate response is to talk about our day jobs. So many of us define ourselves by how we earn money or by what we do from Monday to Friday between the hours of 9 a.m. and 5 pm.

I’m a teacher. I’m a doctor. I’m a lawyer. I’m a stay-at-home mom.

Why do we do this?

Hello tiny human, how do you want to make money two decades from now?

From an extremely early age, adults start asking children, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”

I don’t know…maybe a person who leads a happy life? But that is not the answer that full-grown adults are expecting to hear from 5-year-old children.

We want to know what career path they are going to choose. Will they be an astronaut? A construction worker? A professional soccer player?

--

--

Jaclyn Havington
Project Rollplay

Wife, mother, musician, educator. Puppy lover, and unicorn enthusist. Project Rollplay Wordsmith of Wellness. I believe in magic!