At Last — 2000 reputation on Stack Overflow

Jay (Vijayasimha BR)
ProjectWT
Published in
2 min readApr 19, 2022
it’s dumb and silly, but for some reason, this put a smile on my face. my SO profile.

This morning, I finally hit 2000 reputation on stack overflow.

I know, I know, it’s a totally dumb, silly achievement. I mean, a lot of stack users have 1000s of points. Some of them are SO millionaires. However, for someone like me, who only discovered SO, 6 years ago, with extremely limited knowledge about programming, this makes me happy.

Stack Overflow has been a good friend for me, as it is with millions of developers, all over the world. Without it, I would not have made the thousands of dollars I have earned over the years as part of my career as a freelance developer (now retired) and freelance coding tutor (my current focus).

Now then, why this celebration?

Well, the thing about stack is, it rewards those tech guys who have deep knowledge about a specific topic.

That’s fair, of course.

Which leaves, people like me, who know just enough to get by at their work, grasping for a few points every other day. I am, after all, proud of my ‘master of none’ developer status. I am almost forty, and if anything, I would like to exit the tech industry and semi-retire instead of going deeper into it.

I earn enough to put food on the table with my limited skills.

I currenly have no desire become a ‘tech expert’ in any programming field. I am unambitious and content with what the knowledge I have. I update myself, but, just enough keep myself competitive. I don't want to be thrown out of the race.

However, I don’t want to win the race either. Just happy to reach the finish line. I am a simple guy with a simple life and uncomplicated life goals.

Final Note

This post is primarily for my students.

Try and ensure that you participate in SO. It’s good for your career, and a little bit of reputation goes a long way in establishing your online coding presence.

I work as a full time freelance coding tutor. Hire me at UpWork or Fiverr or Stack Overflow. My personal website is here. Find more of my art at Behance and Unsplash. Also, I have a Podcast about everyday life. And, a 2nd Podcast, where I talk about freelancing.

--

--