Why I Look Forward to Stack Developer Survey Every Year

Jay (Vijayasimha BR)
ProjectWT
Published in
2 min readJun 6, 2024
you are most welcome

Every year, stack overflow does this developer survey thing. Then, they follow it up by providing detailed reports and insights. I find it very useful.

When I was younger, like before 2019, I was very reliant on stack overflow. I would say, stack overflow was half the magic (the other half being the official Microsoft docs), that helped me build a reasonably successful single person freelancing business that I now enjoy.

After 2020, my visits to stack overflow have lessened. For one thing, I retired from developer contracts around 2021, focused on my consultancy, career coaching and tutoring line of work. Also, by 2019, I was already becoming self-reliant, and had become very good at reading the official documentation of whatever technology I was using.

A few years ago, I foolishly thought I could become some high ranking stack overflow member. It took me a few weeks to realize that I simply lack the strong fundamentals required to acquire points in the hyper competitive global marketplace that is stack overflow.

Still, I have some points on stack overflow and some of my questions and answers have crossed 10K views, which make me happy.

Anyway, if you are related to the tech industry in any minimal/maximal way, take the survey. It’s very useful. I take pointers about what new stuff is coming, and what old stuff is going away. Another useful feature of the survey helped me shape the early days of coding life.

Hire me at UpWork or Fiverr or codementor or GitHub. more about me on my personal profile, and also on my personal website.

--

--