“WAP” Empowers Men and Harms Black Women

Yen Lo
Proletariat
Published in
9 min readAug 12, 2020

--

Cardi B’s and Megan thee Stallion’s “WAP” is misogynistic drivel aimed at men to Black women’s peril…

Still image via “WAP”/YouTube

It’s been a real marvel watching men and women celebrate Cardi B. and Megan thee Stallion’s latest “masterpiece” the last few days. Whether I was at my local weed shop simply trying to get some herb, or surfing Twitter, I couldn’t be free of constant references to their new song “WAP”.

Now, I knew that there were going to be essays (or as the less literacy-inclined would derisively refer to as “thinkpieces”) about this video. Both of these women are controversial in their own right, and their visuals tend to become part of the pop culture zeitgeist. That said, I wasn’t prepared for the ridiculousness that ensued. I saw people tweet that seeing sexually explicit images was good for young people and children.

Aldous Huxley must be rolling in his grave, laughing at us in Heaven, or both. As a sexual trauma survivor, and black woman, it was mortifying seeing this. I literally feel like I’m living in a boring ass dystopia. The contempt for black women couldn’t even be concealed any longer. The industry gave us “WAP” and they picked two of the most accomodating women in rap today.

Let me be clear. I am a leftist. I grew up in a very body-positive and sex-positive (to a fault — more on that later) society…

--

--

Yen Lo
Proletariat

Not concerned with propriety. Liberation now. Contrarian by design. Black mother. Somebody’s daughter. Guerrilla in the mist. Imperfect Christian.