A Bouquet for My Love

A poem of roses for my beloved.

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written
1 min readApr 15, 2023

--

Pink Rose by Saffu

Bouquet,
Two dozen mixed.
Orange, white, red, array;
Arranged to leave my love transfixed.
No card.

Imbued,
Gently divine.
Carnality exude;
I lay as if upon a shrine.
Orange.

Bells toll,
Groomsmen released.
Love, of the purest soul;
Passion, of an innocent beast.
White rose.

One rose,
Like you, long-stemmed.
Carries my love enclosed;
Until this world, we do transcend.
Red rose.

Soft blush,
Creeps up your cheek.
Untamed hair soft and lush;
Seeing you leaves me tongue-in-cheek.
My rose.

This poem was inspired by a prompt from Jana Van der Veer and used as part of my NAPOWRIMO 2023 Challenge. Editing was completed by Ravyne Hawke, Petunia Petals, ADEOLA SHEEHY-ADEKALE, and the Promptly Written editorial group; thank you, everyone!

If you enjoyed reading this poem, please follow me, or subscribe to my page to be updated when new stories/poems are posted. Thank you for reading.

--

--

Kevin Baugh
Promptly Written

Entrepreneur • Poet • Fiction Writer • Crafter • Amateur Photographer • Artist • Gardener • Veteran • Cook • Neurodivergent