THE DAILY SPECIAL

A Contented Life

He worked with horses

David Acaster
Promptly Written
Published in
2 min readNov 6, 2021

--

Image shows two horses in a paddock with their barn behind them on a sunny New Mexico day
Image by Author

Met an old boy down New Mexico way
Helped me out when I became stranded
Wanted to know why I wasn’t packin’
Being four thousand miles from home

“Been to Europe once” he said
“Why can’t you people fight your own goddamn wars?”
When he returned from Bastogne
Found he was the only one-legged cowboy in town

Worked with horses all his life
Rode the county line, crossed the Chisum Trail
Raised in a sod-house before the depression kicked in
Left school at thirteen, became a cowboy, rode the Caprock

“Never been to Vegas, California, even New York”
I assured him he’s not missed a damn thing
“Everything I love is here, why would I leave?”
Rivers, mountains, forests, desert… and the wind

“A roof over my head, a good woman an’ food in my belly
All a man needs” he said as he winked at his old lady
Looking out over a yard of rust, broken machinery, memories
“Fixin’ things keeps me sharp, son. Never throw nothing away,
Everything…

--

--

David Acaster
Promptly Written

British, retired, loves reptiles & amphibians, keen on history, steam locomotives, travel, real ale and still trying to master that Fender Stratocaster.