A Conversation with my Past Self

I have brought the spirit of my past self into the present so I can express to her how thankful I am for her

Amanda Wilson
Promptly Written
Published in
4 min readNov 4, 2021

--

Photo by Яна Гурская on Unsplash

Hi Amanda!

I mean, Dee. That’s the name you- er, I went by. You go by…?

Gosh, this is confusing.

I’m just going to pretend like you’re someone else. You’re me, but a part of me that’s long since dead and gone. So I’ll address you as you were in your life- as Dee.

Dee…The girl who liked pills. The girl who hustled people and ran schemes to make money because she didn’t have a job. The girl who didn’t have a home. The girl who didn’t talk to her family because they were disappointed in how she turned out. The girl who did everything her boyfriend said because she was afraid of what he’d do if she didn’t.

Man, it’s no wonder I killed you…Sorry, yeah, you’re dead. You’re dead because I killed you. I’m sorry, but I had to. I couldn’t live while you did- we only have one body for this lifetime and it was my turn. It should have been my turn long before you ever came to the surface, but anyways, I digress.

Obviously our ADD has not improved over the years. Jody calls it ‘squirrel brain’. Who’s Jody? Ah, yes. I’ll get to that-it’s got a lot to do with why you’re…

--

--

Amanda Wilson
Promptly Written

Amanda Wilson is living her best life and is on a mission to help others do the same. Amanda is a published author, writer/editor, witch & SAHM of 2 boys.