A Garden of One

Tending to the purple prose of my mind

Charlie Cole
Promptly Written

--

Photo by Dejan Zakic on Unsplash

Contemplative moods
Invite internal scrutiny

But not when I look at the flower
With its simple, violet delights

Combative ruminations
Poke and prod at insecurities

But not when I gaze upon the flower
Its petals open to floral embrace

Superconductive synapses
Spark their way through the darkness

But not when I approach the flower
Admiring the way it blossoms in the sun

Uncooperative suggestions
Bang at the temples of my mind

But not when I smell the flower
The natural perfume filling the air

Introspective interrogations
Highlighting each and every wrong

But not when I caress the flower
Refreshed from the morning’s dew

Reconstructive framework
Begins to build my world anew

Especially when I water the flower
Giving life to what gave it to me

--

--

Charlie Cole
Promptly Written

Writer • Photographer • Editor • Champion Overthinker • She/Her • https://linktr.ee/charliecole_